TeenHelp

TeenHelp (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/)
-   General Health (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f16-general-health/)
-   -   On medication again :( (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f16-general-health/t160180-medication-again/)

random.swirls June 6th 2020 12:59 PM

On medication again :(

Hi, on Tuesday evening I broke down and everything that I had been bottling up for 2 years all came out. On Wednesday I spoke to my doctor and she prescribed me citalopram.

I feel like a failure for being back on antidepressant. I was on fluoxetine last time and found that caused my weight gain.

If you've been on it, what is citalopram like?

Rivière June 6th 2020 08:37 PM

Re: On medication again :(

You're not a failure for being back on anti-depressants. Sometimes these sorts of things happen. Have you ever been in counselling or any sort of therapy for your troubles?

I've been on Citalopram, but it was short lived because I had such a weird side effect from it (lock jaw) and was so rare to experience that it wasn't even listed on the information leaflet. Otherwise it would have been ok.

Just remember that everyone's experiences of medication is different. They affect us all differently. What may not work for one, may work for another.

random.swirls June 6th 2020 09:31 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rivière (Post 1353919)
You're not a failure for being back on anti-depressants. Sometimes these sorts of things happen. Have you ever been in counselling or any sort of therapy for your troubles?

I've been on Citalopram, but it was short lived because I had such a weird side effect from it (lock jaw) and was so rare to experience that it wasn't even listed on the information leaflet. Otherwise it would have been ok.

Just remember that everyone's experiences of medication is different. They affect us all differently. What may not work for one, may work for another.