TeenHelp
Support Forums Today's Posts

Get Advice Connect with TeenHelp Resources
HelpLINK Facebook     Twitter     Tumblr     Instagram    Hotlines    Safety Zone

You are not registered or have not logged in

Hello guest! (Not a guest? Log in above!)

As a guest on TeenHelp you are only able to use some of our site's features. By registering an account you will be able to enjoy unlimited access to our site, and will be able to:

Signing up is free, anonymous and will only take a few moments, so click here to register now!

Friends and Family Everyone has disagreements, even best friends and family. If you need advice about a relationship, ask us here.

(#1 (permalink)) Old
lenawolff Offline
Alena
Welcome me, I'm new!

Name: Alena

Tips on opening up to mom? - April 15th 2017, 08:40 PM

Hi, guys. I have been on and off TH for a couple of months and the last thread I started here helped me a lot, I started studying musical theatre which is my passion and everything seems so much better now, but there is something bugging me and I really want to get over it, which is opening up to my mom. We were never close, as in talking about stuff, I never got the puberty talk or the drugs talk (that would've been embarrassing honestly I'm happy we didn't lol) because when I reached that age we were already distant. I can't quite remember us talking about stuff much to be honest, I do remember an afternoon when I was 5 and told her I wanted to be an actress and she told me she would sign me up for acting classes (she never did) and that's it, can't remember any other time we sat and talked about something. I do have reasons to believe that's why I grew up to be so closed with my family, mom was always too busy to talk with me, grandma is not here anymore, my uncle is a man and I don't exactly feel comfortable opening up to him about some stuff. When I was a bit younger (let's say something between 10 and 18 years old), I'd miss mom asking me stuff like how was school or what did