TeenHelp

TeenHelp (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/)
-   Anxiety and Stress (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f205-anxiety-stress/)
-   -   Work Related Anxiety (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f205-anxiety-stress/t142324-work-related-anxiety/)

Loki! December 5th 2015 11:10 AM

Work Related Anxiety

Hey, I'm in a rather odd position. (Be prepared for a long backstory)
I've been working at a supermarket for the last 5-6 months or so, and since both of my brothers worked there previously, I grew up hearing about how terrible it was.
My dad has these ideals of what growing up should be like, and very much pushed me to get a job there (even though I was really wanting to work somewhere else and had applied at over 20 places - he just didn't seem to listen. Got to the point that he yelled at me for now wanting to speak to the manager.)
Anyway, I've put up with a lot of stuff in the time that I've worked there. My supervisor in particular. She's an odd person, and no matter how hard I try I can't seem to get along with her. The way she treated me got pretty bad, to the point that after several shifts I just went home and cried.
One evening in particular was really terrible, and I managed to get home and get into my room before I just broke down completely. Dad discovered me on the phone to my friend, sobbing and telling her what I'd been through.
My parents have only recently found out that I'm depressed and suffer from anxiety, and were very shocked when I came home one time from the doctor with w referral for a psychologist. It seems that me breaking down is the only thing that really gets them motivated to do anything.
So I told dad what happened, cried a bit (a lot) more, and then a few days later complained to higher ups about my supervisor. They took it seriously and spoke to her.