TeenHelp

TeenHelp (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/)
-   Friends and Family (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f18-friends-family/)
-   -   Parents not fully understanding/appreciating my career path (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f18-friends-family/t159765-parents-not-fully-understanding-appreciating-my-career-path/)

Mallika January 29th 2020 03:32 PM

Parents not fully understanding/appreciating my career path

Hi folks!

So I've had this issue for a few years now. I'm a 21-year-old student studying Genetics at the university level. Both my parents are from a commerce background and no one in our extended family works in any science field.

When I opted to do Genetics, my parents didn't really believe me when I said that it is an extremely hot area in Science/Biology with a vast array of career paths, though they still allowed me to go ahead. Even three years later, whenever I tell them about my future career plans (e.g. higher studies, careers within Genetics), they aren't wholeheartedly convinced that Genetics is a legitimate field. While I have tried patiently explaining to them about the relevancy of the field and its absolute value in the context of health and society, I feel they are saying "Yes, we understand" just to placate me. But I genuinely doubt that they truly understand, because they occasionally say things like "This is why you should have done another field," when it was taking me some time to land an internship (I eventually got a really good one), or "But are you sure there is any relevancy for this project you're doing," and so on.