View Single Post
  (#5 (permalink)) Old
Always * Offline
I can't get enough

Points: 26,162, Level: 23 Points: 26,162, Level: 23 Points: 26,162, Level: 23

Re: Useless Degree? (uni/college posters please!) - October 28th 2013, 02:14 PM

I find that's a bit of the problem with humanities and social sciences. I am also going to be graduating with a double major, sociology and religious studies. Seriously, even when I left history to take soc/religion instead I was basically thinking, you know, my degree is basically "useless" if I want to attribute it to 1 specific career path. If that's how you want to look at it you basically run out of options. It's not like people hire sociologists who's education in sociology never extended beyond the undergraduate level.

I always planned to continue my education by getting a college diploma or a masters in a more specialized area, and that's why I was ok with it because I loved the courses I take and I learn a lot about stuff I am interested in. I have always been interested in careers that relate to working with people such as law enforcement, social work, NGO's, foreign affairs and PR work, and from my point of view my degree gives me an amazing point of view here.

Take police work for example, yes, I could have just taken the police foundations diploma (offered all across Canada far as I know). Heck, I'd even be done school by now if I had!! But a lot of police forces prefer you get a different education because they want people with a variety of backgrounds instead of just a bunch of "robo-cops" who've done nothing but studying police work after leaving high school. They all give you the police training any how. So for me to be in a position where I understand the inner workings of many cultures, religions and social problems would be a positive factor there know what I mean?