View Single Post
  (#2 (permalink)) Old
Celyn Offline
~One Skittles Minion~

Jeez, get a life!

Name: Holly
Pronouns: She/Her

Points: 57,742, Level: 34 Points: 57,742, Level: 34 Points: 57,742, Level: 34

Re: Do I have social anxiety? Or is this just me being afraid of growing up? - September 11th 2014, 07:01 PM

Hey Alex,

From what you have said, I’m not sure if it sound like you have social anxiety. If you feel anxious in a lot of different situations that require social interaction, such as meeting new people, talking to friends, people in authority, going shopping/cinema/out for food and using public transport, then I would consider social anxiety. However, it sounds like you may have mild general anxiety, but I’m not a professional, so if you wanted to find out for definite, it would be best to see a qualified professional.

It is definitely normal to feel nervous when driving for the first couple of times. I think the incident unnerved you and you realise that growing up comes with added responsibilities. You may worry that similar situations may happen again, which may or may not be generalised anxiety. It may have also knocked your confidence a bit which would add to the anxiety.

Since you are 18, I feel that it is also normal to worry about the future, and feel comfortable with being kid and almost scared of being adult. Growing up is a weird thing. Some people seem to be complete naturals at growing up. Others take a little longer. And then some worry about it. But at some point in all of our lives, we do have to leave the comfort of our childhood behind. However, remember that you are a YOUNG adult. Depending on how you look at it, you’re still a teenager and in some places, they don’t consider you to be a young adult until 21. Even then, the process of growing up takes a while.