View Single Post
  (#1 (permalink)) Old
WyeOak Offline
Welcome me, I'm new!

Name: Shan

Points: 4,841, Level: 10 Points: 4,841, Level: 10 Points: 4,841, Level: 10

Having a hard time making friends in college - September 29th 2015, 07:42 PM

I hope this is in the correct section.

I'm a first year college student who's living away from home during the week. I'm in a place where I know nobody, with no friends to fall back on it or anything. It's been three weeks and so far I haven't made a single friend. I speak to the people in my course, they're all lovely and we say hello to each other in the hallways and speak occasionally in class but I haven't really clicked with anyone. The clubs and societies have only recently started up and I've been attending but I'm having my doubts that I'll make friends.

My parents ask me how things are going and I'll lie and say I've met a few good friends because I know if they think otherwise they'll probably want me to come home if I'm not enjoying it, which I couldn't do, we're by no means rich and getting here in the first place was an expense, one I know they didn't take lightly, so the last thing I want to do is disappoint them. I actually like the college, and my course, it's one that took a lot of work to get so I'm very happy to be here, it's just disheartening to sit alone for an hour or two at lunch or to be only person in the class sitting by myself.