View Single Post
  (#1 (permalink)) Old
It is 57 below zero Offline
Welcome me, I'm new!

Name: Malik

Points: 7,444, Level: 12 Points: 7,444, Level: 12 Points: 7,444, Level: 12

I really don't want to be forced to wait a whole year before college and be far behind my age-appropriate peers - December 21st 2015, 07:53 AM

This is really urgent, I need serious advice because time is seriously running out and it's a long term decision that can be negative. I don't want to be a year older than most of my classmates throughout college.

I graduated high school in 2015 and I should've been in college this past fall but my parents wouldn't enroll me in college soon enough, they were very late getting my transcripts and everything. I was supposed to be put in a college in October of 2015 (at first my parents even planned to put me in by October) but they haven't yet worked out a plan for transportation. I am supposed to be a part of the class of 2019 for college but I don't want to be put in a group of younger classmates.

I don't have a way to convince my parents to put me in real soon. I don't want them to force me to wait a whole year. I already missed an entire semester of instruction and it will be hard enough for me to catch up with my peers as it is. I'm supposed to be the class of 2019 and I don't want to become the class of 2020 or later. In the last few months at least 5 of my former classmates from high school have contacted me, I felt seriously humiliated when I had to tell them I wasn't in a college yet. I feel most comfortable staying on track with my age-appropriate peers. I don't like being the odd one out. Since I went to a challenging high school, I'd say around 95% of my class graduated, and at least 80% of them are in either a two-year or four-year college/university since this fall. I feel like I'm behind.