I've been here a while

Name: Jack

Points: 17,299, Level: 19 Points: 17,299, Level: 19 Points: 17,299, Level: 19

Re: "My Bullied Son's Last Day on Earth" - April 25th 2009, 03:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadaCraig View Post
Hi Everyone!!

I hope you're OK.

The sad thing is.... I have been listening to ALL of the exact same arguments SINCE the mid 1970's. The bottom line of [almost] all of your ideas [Including yours Jack] can be summed up in two words.

DO NOTHING!!
How so? I said nothing of the sort.

In fact, I stated that better teacher training on bullying and lessons which teach the value of tolerance are needed. That just seems an easy way of avoiding answering all my questions and points. Please try and answer them because then you will probably be able to see why criminalising children is a really silly idea. (Also because I didn't spend a while typing them up to be ignored )

Now also, supposing that I did say "DO NOTHING" (which I didn't), then how is putting forward a badly concieved idea with a high probability of backfiring better than doing nothing?

Quote:
As for the argument that 'bullies are victims too' - I agree. But so what? They can be helped AFTER they have been arrested and/or charged and/or held accountable - legally - in some way. Besides - haven't most criminals been victims of one thing or another?!