View Single Post
  (#2 (permalink)) Old
Storyteller. Offline
Spite and coffee.

Jeez, get a life!

Name: Charlie
Pronouns: they/them

Points: 106,738, Level: 46 Points: 106,738, Level: 46 Points: 106,738, Level: 46

Re: Help advocating for myself with ADHD - May 2nd 2021, 08:07 AM

Disclaimer: I haven't been diagnosed with ADHD, so I'm far from an expert on the subject.

Unfortunately, ADHD is one of those conditions that tends to be overlooked or misdiagnosed if it doesn't present in a certain way, so it's not uncommon for the more inattentive traits to go unnoticed or be attributed to other causes (such as anxiety). It also means that finding someone with both the knowledge and ability to diagnose it can be tricky, so it might be worth looking into your psychiatrist's specialties to get a sense of whether he's likely to be receptive. Even if you do advocate for yourself here and it doesn't turn out the way you're hoping for, it doesn't necessarily mean you don't have ADHD and it definitely doesn't mean you should give up on trying to seek support.

That said, you'll likely have to demonstrate that your symptoms:
  • have been present since before age 12
  • are evident in multiple settings (work, home, school, etc)
  • significantly interfere with your functioning/quality of life
  • aren't better explained by another condition