View Single Post
  (#2 (permalink)) Old
OMFG!You'reActuallySmart! Offline
Stupidity Kills
Outside, huh?

Points: 30,209, Level: 25 Points: 30,209, Level: 25 Points: 30,209, Level: 25

Re: How much does reading matter in college? - October 4th 2011, 07:38 AM

I'll start off by saying I'm only taking science classes, so it may be different than for non-science classes.

I find it to be quite helpful to read the assigned chapters after the lecture because some things can make more sense or explained in a different way. So I prefer to read after the lecture when everything is still fresh in my mind. When I'm reading and something clicks giving me the "AHA, eurika!" moment, I write it down in the textbook margins so when I'm studying for a test, I just look at my scribbles.

On the other hand, I read before the lecture when I look at the slides before the lecture (some profs post slides before the lecture) and the slides confuse me. I turn to the textbook hoping it can clarify it because I don't want to just write down every word the prof says, I want to write down a summarized coherent version and it's easier to do this if you have some understanding of the content before-hand. For example, yesterday I had a lecture in my course of clinical audiology and I didn't quite understand the slides the prof posted the night before, so I turned to the textbooks (this course has 2 books). After reading, I had a better understanding but still a bit unsure on a few things. Happily, the prof explained those during lecture.