TeenHelp

TeenHelp (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/)
-   Education and Careers (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f22-education-careers/)
-   -   Career Choice/High School Application Struggles (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f22-education-careers/t143404-career-choice-high-school-application-struggles/)

frnkiero January 28th 2016 11:50 PM

Career Choice/High School Application Struggles

So, this has been freaking me out.

I have to apply for my choice high school in less than a year. It sounds like I have a lot of time, but in reality, I don't at all. This school is a school for the arts. They are very tedious about who they accept.

My family, teachers, and basically everyone I know wants me to audition for creative writing. To audition for that, you need to submit at least 20 pages of your own writing. I have about one page done, and it takes me a long time to write. I am an excellent writer, and I have a few published poems. The thing is, I am not passionate about writing. I would hate to be a full time author. And with this school, a lot of their focus is making your major your full time career.

What I am passionate about is guitar, and music. I love playing guitar and writing songs, and I am in a band. (My parents don't know I'm in a band. I plan on telling them when I get a drummer, so we can actually start making music.) Obviously, I want to audition with guitar. I want to pursue guitar and music for the rest of my life. I would not mind having a creative writing elective, but it's definitely not for me career and major wise.