TeenHelp

TeenHelp (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/)
-   Friends and Family (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f18-friends-family/)
-   -   Is it wrong of my parents to not let me hang out with my friends while they aren't home? (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f18-friends-family/t143065-wrong-my-parents-not-let-me-hang-out-my-friends-while-they-arent-home/)

xobeautylover96 January 12th 2016 03:26 AM

Is it wrong of my parents to not let me hang out with my friends while they aren't home?

I am 20 years old and my parents won't let me go out to lunch with my friends while they aren't home. I am a college student and still living with my parents. I don't have my own car which means that my friends have to pick me up from my house in order to go out with them. Do you think that it is wrong of my parents to not let me go out with my friends while they aren't home?

ladygodoftitsandwine January 12th 2016 03:42 AM

Re: Is it wrong of my parents to not let me hang out with my friends while they aren't home?

You're over 18. What your parents don't know won't hurt them.

Ennui. January 12th 2016 05:52 AM

Re: Is it wrong of my parents to not let me hang out with my friends while they aren't home?

My parents don't really let me have friends over the house when they're not home but they don't stop me from going out. Do you think you could calmly talk to them and ask them why they feel this way? Maybe they're afraid of you getting hurt in some way. You're their child after all and maybe they're having a hard time accepting that you are an adult now

Maybe you can make a compromise. For example my sister had a curfew while living at home. Or maybe you can call to check in until they feel comfortable?

Always * January 12th 2016 09:31 PM

Is it wrong? No, not on a fundamental level. Is it bizarrely overprotective? Yes, especially considering you are 20. I mean, it'd be a whole other story if you were like 9 or 10, but then they probably shouldn't be leaving you at home alone.