(#3 (permalink)) Old
Mallika Offline
HelpLINK Mentor

Regular TeenHelper

Name: Mallika

Points: 11,409, Level: 15 Points: 11,409, Level: 15 Points: 11,409, Level: 15

Re: Quarantine - April 6th 2020, 09:11 AM

Hello and thanks for sharing!

COVID-19 lockdown is taking a toll on all of us; with our regular routines disrupted, it's hard to suddenly adapt to doing all our work and assignments from home.

I'm a college student myself and I can understand how different it is doing assignments from home. In fact, I was under a very strict lockdown whereby I couldn't even go out for a walk, because I had previously travelled from a high-risk area. I can give you a little tip from my experience over the past few weeks of "attending" college virtually - plan your day-to-day activities in small chunks.

I know that there are many who find it hard to follow a plan/timetable, but a big reason for that is that they are assigning too many things for themselves in a single day. Perhaps you could say:

- listen to 2-3 lectures (2 hours)
- half an hour break/lunch
- do a bit of my assignment (1-2 hours)
- And call it a day!

Start on your assignments early so you won't have to cram having to do them; these strange circumstances are stressful as it is! You'll find that getting little chunks of work done each day goes a long way in boosting your morale!

I also found that exercising helped a lot. I just jogged on the spot for 20 min every second day, or followed from home workouts by Danielle Peazer. Go out for a walk. Maybe try your hand at cooking, baking or a new hobby! I am currently learning how to decorate a cake and it's the little incentive I give myself after getting some college work done.