TeenHelp
Support Forums Today's Posts

Get Advice Connect with TeenHelp Resources
HelpLINK Facebook     Twitter     Tumblr Hotlines

You are not registered or have not logged in

Hello guest! (Not a guest? Log in above!)

As a guest on TeenHelp you are only able to use some of our site's features. By registering an account you will be able to enjoy unlimited access to our site, and will be able to:

Signing up is free, anonymous and will only take a few moments, so click here to register now!

Self Harm If you or someone you know is struggling with self harm and needs advice or alternatives, we're here to help.

Closed Thread

(#1 (permalink)) Old
duet Offline
Welcome me, I'm new!

Upon Deaf Ears -- help - May 4th 2009, 05:37 AM

This is my first post here. I'm sorry if it's so abrupt.

I have been hurting myself for seven years, and it has been a secret from everyone, until now. A few months ago, my parents found out, they're cool with it. I'm finally free at home to wear what I want. A few friends know, and that's what I regret.

I go to a catholic school and we celebrate mass once a month on friday. I honestly thought that I could trust those people that I have called my friends. In one part of mass, we need to hold hands. Unfortunatly, we are not allowed to wear jackets at mass, which leaves my arms vulnurable to unwelcoming eyes. Usually someone sits on both sides of me so know one can see but them. This time they didn't. I freaked. i was told that I needed to chill out and get over it, because I made this decision on my own and now I have to live with it.

I understood from the very beginning that I would have to bear with the scars for the rest of my life. But, being around those I don't know, or care to know, I feel naked and exposed. I don't want to be told that I need to "chill."