TeenHelp
Support Forums Today's Posts

Get Advice Connect with TeenHelp Resources
HelpLINK Facebook     Twitter     Tumblr Hotlines

You are not registered or have not logged in

Hello guest! (Not a guest? Log in above!)

As a guest on TeenHelp you are only able to use some of our site's features. By registering an account you will be able to enjoy unlimited access to our site, and will be able to:

Signing up is free, anonymous and will only take a few moments, so click here to register now!

Mental Health Use this forum to share your mental health concerns and to seek advice.

Closed Thread

(#1 (permalink)) Old
Average Joe

Name: Jamie

Avoidant personality disorder? - October 2nd 2011, 03:12 AM

I'm a second year psychology student at a university, so I know better than many that self-diagnosis is a bad idea, and using the internet and mere undergrad psych tools to do so will cause more harm than good.

However, I'm a little unnerved. I've recently become aware of avoidant personality disorder, and not only do I believe I fit many of the symptoms... my parents and boyfriend have been trying to get me to realize that something isn't right for years.

I self-isolate and feel lonely virtually 24/7, even when I'm surrounded by people who say they care about me. Social situations don't scare me, but I avoid parties and large groups like the plague because they make me feel uncomfortable and out of place. Similarly, any kind of familiar physical contact (especially hugs, but any touch can do it) with anyone but my boyfriend or mom makes me feel upset and sometimes panicked. My self-esteem is, according to others, really low.