TeenHelp

TeenHelp (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/)
-   Friends and Family (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f18-friends-family/)
-   -   Asking parents for financial support? (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f18-friends-family/t151741-asking-parents-financial-support/)

Elle_94 June 13th 2017 09:27 AM

Asking parents for financial support?

Hi guys,

So lately I've been struggling a bit with money. I have a job and I work as often as I can, but I'm a student so I can't manage full time work at the moment. I get paid minimum wage and as I'm only 19 that's around £5.50 per hour - it's not a lot. I get some student finance but it's not a lot at all either. I'm so stressed and worried and I really need some help. I've been thinking about asking my parents for a bit of support. Im not going to ask for much from them, just the bare minimum I'd need to borrow to manage. Do you think it's okay to ask them for help? Will they be angry? How can I start the conversation with them?

Thanks in advance
Elle

DeletedAccount24 June 13th 2017 06:20 PM

Re: Asking parents for financial support?

Hey, I don't know how the relationship between you and your parents is but I don't think it could hurt to ask them for advice and support. They may encourage you to do things for yourself, but I'm sure they'll still have your back through everything. They'll probably be more upset if you struggle, fail, and then go to them because they will have felt like they could have helped you during all that time. I know that's what my parents would be like, anyways. As I said, the relationship you have with your parents might be different and I don't know anything about it. :)

Ambedo. June 13th 2017 08:27 PM

Hey Elle,

I don't think there's anything wrong with asking your parents for a bit of financial support. While it might feel like an uncomfortable conversation, remember that they were your age once too! I'm sure they remember the struggle of balancing school with a minimum wage job.