TeenHelp

TeenHelp (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/)
-   Relationships and Dating (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f9-relationships-dating/)
-   -   Military spouses-help for a n00b (http://www.teenhelp.org/forums/f9-relationships-dating/t138695-military-spouses-help-n00b/)

Coffee. May 30th 2015 01:48 AM

Military spouses-help for a n00b

My partner of seven years landed a spot in a Marine Corps service band stationed in San Diego and will be enlisting. This has changed quite a few of our plans. We had already talked about marriage, and we have both wanted to marry long before he even thought about enlisting. However, marriages are expensive and we both wanted to complete school first and make sure we're living in the same location as we're both passionate about our careers and that obviously comes first. But because of this opportunity, he is now taking a few years off of school and planning to go back in a few years while I am a college graduate beginning graduate school in the fall across the country. When we first talked about it, we decided it may be beneficial for us to get married while I am in graduate school, maybe between the first and second. However, we learned from a friend that there may be benefits to us potentially getting married before attends basic/boot camp, which he will be attending this fall at an undetermined time, depending on paperwork and such.