(#51 (permalink)) Old
01love Offline
Not a n00b

Name: Lena

Points: 8,546, Level: 13 Points: 8,546, Level: 13 Points: 8,546, Level: 13

Re: Science, religion...thoughts - March 27th 2011, 02:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by WOW!USaidSomethingSmart! View Post
Excellent, I like having discussions regarding science with someone who studies in it. Since you're in Canada, where do you study? I'm at University of Toronto studying in double major biology and psychology with minor in criminology, so my specialty is neuroscience and pharmacology, although I took a course in comparative vertebrate anatomy and evolution.
Oh, a UT student! Haha nice to meet you, I grew up in Toronto (: Currently, I'm in my 2nd year at McGill University.

Quote:
I always ask someone this, why must have it been planned? Is it because it'd be such a big coincidence if it wasn't planned, which is the usual argument I hear?
Yes, exactly that. I believe the world is too complex and too exact to have been a complete accident. The chemical balance in our body, in the environment, in space, everything! - it is so delicate, even a single mistake could've tipped something out of sync and out of control. But that didn't happen, we're all here typing away at TH~ I don't think this universal balance was created by a coincidence, because the balance is still maintained. Unplanned incidents can't be so perfect, so lasting - this is my belief (:

Quote:
When you say "made us", do you mean god making humans directly or indirectly? If indirectly, such as evolution, do you subscribe to theistic evolution or to biological evolution (i.e. scientific)? I ask this because from your metaphorical interpretation, would that mean god consciously directs evolution?